About the Department of Biochemistry

The Department of Biochemistry is one of the departments in the Faculty of Basic Medical Sciences of the University of Calabar. It started in 1978 to train the first batch of medical students. The B.Sc. degree programme started in 1980 with an enrolment of two students. Following the takeoff of the B.Sc. programme, the postgraduate programme leading to the award of M.Sc. and Ph.D. degrees started later in 1980. Thus the Department of Boichemistry became the leading Department and the first in the College of Medical Sciences to commence postgraduate programme. Recently, another programme Human Nutrition and Dietetics leading to the award of B.Sc. degree has been added. The Department provides a foundational training in theoretical and practical Biochemistry that qualifies its graduates for industries and research institutes. The endocrine research unit, established by Prof. P. E. Ebong in the department is very active and helps to develop scientific phytotherapies against diseases of public health importance such as diabetes mellitus and malaria. The Department has collaboration with other laboratories for the advancement of research.

Our Staff

Academic Staff

Technical Staff

Name Unit Rank
Mr. E. Udo-Eka Principal Technologist
Mr. M. E. Etta Senior Technologist
Mrs. E. Egbe Technologist II
Mrs. A. Ekpo Technologist II
Mrs. Florence Ita Technologist II
Mrs. Mercy J. Eteng Technologist II
Mrs. L. C. Aburime Technologist II

Administrative Staff

Name Unit Rank
Mrs.Affiong, Bassey.O Conf. Secretary II
Mrs. E. O. Edet Principal Exe. Officer
Mr. Abam .E. Eteng Asst. Registrar
Mrs. C. B. Ikpe Admin. Assistant
Mrs. C. L. Inyang Executive Officer
Womon .U. Obono Animal House Officer
Ubong M. Inwang Computer Operator II
Bassey, John Okoi Experimental Animal Superintendent
Esekpa, Dodeye Eno Animal Assistant
Omang .O. Christopher Snr.Computer.Operator
Mr. O. E. Uno Clerical Officer
David Ubi Clerical Office
Helen.B.Udosen Messenger/Cleaner