About the Department of Pharmacology

The Department of Pharmacology is one of the departments in the Faculty of Basic Medical Sciences of the University of Calabar. Operationally, the Department of Pharmacology is a bridge between basic and clinical departments, thus encouraging continuity of basic pharmacologic principles and pharmacotherapeutics in order to foster productive cooperation in research between basic medical scientists and clinicians. The M.Sc. programme was approved in 1989 while there is also a Ph.D. programme that leads to the award of degree in various areas of pharmacology. In addition to teaching pharmacology to medical students, the department is also involved in teaching pharmacology to students in the departments of Anatomy, Biochemistry, Nursing, Physiology and Radiography and Medical Laboratory Sciences.

Our Staff

Academic Staff

Technical Staff

Name Unit Rank
Mr. Marcus S. Inyang Chief Technologist
Barr. G. B. Inyang Chief Animal Health Technologist
Mr. Isaac A. Onoko Principal Technologist
Mr. Etim I. IFANG Senior Lab. Assistant
Mary E. Asikong Senior Lab. Assistant
Janet J. Enyi Experimental Animal Assistant

Administrative Staff

Name Unit Rank
Mr. Michael U. Elijah Chief Confidential Secretary
Mr. Bassey A. Echi Higher Executive Officer
Mrs. Lovina B. Asuquo Admin Assistant
Mr. Oyong V. Otu Executive Officer
Agbachom, A. I Computer Operator 1
Affiong E. Udoh-Udoh Caretaker